Exposition

Opening hours

1. 4. – 31. 8. MON – SUN 9:00 – 18:00

1. 9. – 31. 3. TUE – SUN 10:00 – 18:00

Guided tours

Tour starts every hour, last start of long tour at 16:00, short tour at 17.00.

Mining exposition including a ride down the pit in the original mine cage

Visitors will experience the miners‘ day from their arrival at the shaft and changing in the historical chain cloakrooms, to an authentic journey down the pit to the miners‘ workplace. You can also try out how the miners travelled to a more distant workplace using a special carts designed for transport of people in the mine. The mining exhibition is now extended by a section about the history of mine transport and the use of horses, called “Ferdinand, the horse and other four-legged miners”.

Mine rescue exhibition

The exposition presents a unique collection of respiratory equipment, illustrating its development from 1883 to now. Mine rescue was a significant part of every mine shaft. Experienced mining rescue workers will introduce the technologies used and share their experiences from underground rescue work.

Surface exhibition of tunneling and mining equipment

A free exposition of heavy mining equipment (miners and rock cutter combines, drills, loaders and mine locomotives) can be found near the central car park.

Historical settlement exhibition

Located near the central car park, the exhibition displays an example of the historical dwelling with a fireplace from the times of the first Landek settlements 23,000 years ago which was back up by the discovery of the Venus of Landek (Petřkovice) in the 1950s. This was the first documented place of black coal use, which is geologically proven by the rarity of coal seam with 12m extension above the surface.