About Mining Museum in Landek Park

Former Anselm Mine, nowadays known for mining history, sport, relaxation, and camping.

The Anselm Mine (also known as the Urx Mine) is the oldest mine in Ostrava. Almost 30 years ago the Mining Museum was founded here and it is the biggest one in the Czech Republic. The quarter-kilometre-long underground passages reveal step by step the mysteries of the mining workplace.

The combination of the Mining Museum as a technical monument with the Landek Hill as a national natural monument makes this area in Ostrava Petrkovice unique and beautiful. In the close distance of the confluence of the Odra and the Ostravice rivers (1.5 km from the D1 motorway exit), visitors will find knowledge, relaxation, and leisure. Visitors can go down to the shaft, visit the chain cloakroom, take a ride by the original mine train from the 1960s, or see the exposition of the mining rescue service. This 35-hectare area also includes a sports and recreation zone with a camp and catering facilities.

Landek Park is a favourite recreation zone not only for mining history lovers but also for families with children, pupils, sports enthusiasts, and organizers of cultural events. Whoever passed the visit of Landek is as if he passed the visit of Ostrava itself.

Landek Park and the Mining Museum ARE NOT located in Lower Vitkovice. It is located in Ostrava Petrkovice. A map of the area is available here.

2 000 people camp capacity
35 hectares of premises
1953 when the Venus figurine of Petřkovice was found
250 metres of mine pathways